City of Oshawa recognizes excellence in urban design

OSHAWA – The City of Oshawa announced the winners of the 2018 Urban Design Awards at a special ceremony at The Robert McLaughlin Gallery on June 14, 2018.

Fifteen projects received an Award of Excellence and one project received a Special Recognition Award for demonstrating excellence in urban design, as well as enhancing the image of the city and quality of life.

The 2018 Urban Design Award of Excellence winners are:

  • Clara Hughes Public Elementary School, 610 Taylor Avenue
  • Saint Kateri Tekakwitha Catholic Elementary School, 1425 Coldstream Drive
  • Harmony Hill Retirement Community, 1335 Benson Street
  • Royal Heights Apartment Building, 30 Adelaide Avenue East
  • Software Informatics Research Centre (SIRC), University of Ontario Institute of Technology, 40 Conlin Road West
  • Centre for Collaborative Education (CFCE), Durham College, 2018 Simcoe Street North
  • Oshawa Centre Expansion Project, 419 King Street West
  • Oshawa GO/VIA Station, 915 Bloor Street West
  • Atria Apartment/Commercial Development, 100 Bond Street East
  • IBEW Local 353 East Training Centre, 1001 Ritson Road South
  • Holiday Inn Express & Suites and Conference Centre, 67 Simcoe Street North
  • Ritson Residence Apartment Building, 1658 Ritson Road North
  • Kiya Apartment Building , 710 King Street West
  • Taylorwood Townhomes, 2 Taylorwood Road
  • Michael McDougall Team Real Estate Office, 707 Harmony Road North

The 2018 Urban Design Special Recognition Award has been awarded to Thomas Brown Architects Inc. and Harrington McAvan Ltd. for the design and development of Oshawa Fire Services Fire Station 6 located at 2339 Simcoe Street North.

In addition to receiving an Award of Excellence from the City of Oshawa, the fifteen winning projects are eligible to participate in the 2018 National Urban Design Awards (Tier II) Program administered by the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada.

The evening included words from featured speaker Ted Wilson, a Master lecturer from the McEwen School of Architecture at Laurentian University. Originally from Toronto, Ted is currently Chair of the Sustainable Built Environment Committee and focused on the importance of the environment in his speech.

The City of Oshawa 2018 Urban Design Awards were made possible with support from its sponsors: GHD Engineering, Independent Project Managers, Rice Commercial Group, The Biglieri Group and Nina Romano State Farm Agent. The 2018 Urban Design Awards were presented with support from the Ontario Association of Architects, the Ontario Professional Planners Institute and the Ontario Association of Landscape Architects.

Learn more about the program on the City’s Urban Design Awards web page.

For updates on the City of Oshawa, visit and sign up for news, alerts and e-newsletters. Stay connected with us on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, YouTube and Connect Oshawa.

Picture of Isabelle Foley

Isabelle Foley

As Director of Member Success I strive to help members connect and get the most out of their chamber membership. I am an advocate for local businesses and passionate about spotlighting our community's success. Join the growth!


Stay up to date on the latest by subscribing to our newsletter

Related articles